How EComposer billing work?
EComposer has Free plan and other Paid plans. You’re only charged when subscribing to one of EComposer paid plans. This article will explain how & when you will be charged in different cases: Subscribe, Upgrade, Downgrade, Uninstall, Reinstall app, Freeze or Pause store.
Usual EComposer App Charge
EComposer applies recurring app charge to users, monthly or yearly depends on what option you choose.
- You pay a monthly/yearly subscription to EComposer via Shopify App charges. In other words, Shopify will manage all billings and charges of Shopify apps (along with Shopify store plan charge)
- EComposer’s billing cycle works separately from Shopify’s billing cycle.
- You will be charged for used apps and for Shopify plan at the same time, by Shopify.
Upgrade/Downgrade EComposer plan
If you upgrade or downgrade your subscription with an app, then the app will prompt you to agree to a new recurring app charge. This is because Shopify allows each app only one recurring app charge to be enabled at a time. The existing recurring application charge will be canceled and replaced by the new charge.
EComposer new app charge is applied immediately, then when you upgrade your plan by moving from a less expensive charge to a more expensive charge, the charge is prorated based on the difference in price and the number of days remaining in the billing cycle. For example, if you begin a 30-day billing cycle on a $19.00 plan, and upgrade to a $29.00 plan on day 15 of the billing cycle, then you’re charged $19.00 + ($29.00 – $19.00) * (15/30) = $24.00 USD.
When you downgrade your plan by moving from a more expensive charge to a less expensive charge, you’re automatically offered an application credit based on the difference in price and the number of days remaining in the billing cycle. This application credit can be used towards any future application purchase on Shopify.
When you uninstall the app, your recurring charge will be canceled and you won’t be charged for the next EComposer billing cycles.
But you will still need to pay for the cycle that has started before you uninstall EComposer. This is Shopify policy, we cannot change it.
In case you wish to have a refund on the number of days not use EComposer in your last billing cycle, please contact us for assistance.
If you reinstall EComposer, Shopify will create new EComposer’s billing cycle. In case you reinstall EComposer in the same billing cycle of your uninstallation day, then new billing cycle will take the old ending date. If not, it will be a totally new cycle that last for 30 days.
For example: Your EComposer billing cycle before uninstallation starts at day 5. Then at day 10, you uninstall EComposer. Then at day 15, you reinstall EComposer > your end date of that new billing cycle will be on day 30.
Another case, your EComposer billing cycle before uninstallation starts at day 5. Then at day 10, you uninstall EComposer. Then at day 10 one month later, you reinstall EComposer > your end date of that new billing cycle will be on day 10 next month.
Deactivate/Pause your Store
If you stop paying your bills, or deactivate your store, then Shopify freezes your account and your recurring EComposer app charge. If you start your payments again, or re-open your store within 30 days, Shopify unfreezes your account and your recurring EComposer app charges resume.
If you pause your store using the Pause and Build plan, you should consider cancel EComposer paid plan or downgrade to Free plan, so that you’re not billed for recurring app charge after you pause your store.